Land ahoy!

Yes, I am pleased to announce that today was the day! I sighted land and manged to step foot on to the island without weather troubles. I caught up with one of the Islands’ rangers, John Duggan, who kindly gave me a ride to Beacon End (McKenzie Bay).  I allowed 2 hours to walk one way from the Islington Bay wharf so a ride was a big help.

View to the Beacon (2014)

View to the Beacon (2014)

The ferry departed at 0915 and arrived at Islington Bay around 1025. Once I was dropped off at Beacon End I proceeded to start from the south and work my way back up north. The first bach site played hide and seek and was not found until 1115. It was the site of S. Luxford according to the map below.

Beacon End Bach locations

Beacon End bach locations

There was no bach left but its footprint in the scrub can still be seen. Amazingly there were still remnants of beehives and evidence that the island at one time contributed to the honey industry—Pohutukawa honey! The second and last site for the day was the Eagles family bach. The bach was amazing and in such an idyllic spot. You could tell it was a happy place full of lasting memories. This was the last site to be visited due to allowing the 2 hours for the trek back to catch the ferry. No ship material was seen today, but not to worry as I have over 100 sites still to visit. Also, to back up my point of Rangitoto being deceivingly large, I managed to clock up 13.5km walking today. Not bad for 5 hours of work! /KB

Peaceful view back to the city from Eagles bach.

Peaceful view back to the city from Eagles bach

Kurt surveying S. Luxford bach site

Kurt surveying S. Luxford bach site

S. Luxford bach site

S. Luxford bach site

Beehives

Beehives

Leave a Reply

